smart property investment logo

Over 140 suburbs blacklisted by bank

By Reporter 24 March 2016 | 1 minute read

The leaking of a confidential report kept by a lender has revealed the suburbs they deem to be most at risk, with a large supply of new-build apartments meaning tighter lending conditions are coming into play in cities throughout the country.

AMP Bank is the latest lender to have been revealed as keeping a 'black list' of risky suburbs where more stringent lending conditions will apply, according to Fairfax Media.

The list is composed of suburbs where there are high volumes of newly completed or soon to be completed apartment dwellings.

“We have identified certain high-density areas where we have put provisions in place to manage risk and oversupply,” a spokesman for AMP Bank said.

“We take a prudent approach to managing risk,” they told Fairfax.


According to Fairfax, borrowers from AMP in these suburbs will face tougher restrictions on the amount borrowed, restrictions on the number of apartments able to be purchased in a single development and a ban on using some developer incentives.

NSW suburbs on in the list include AnnandaleAnnandale, NSW Annandale, QLD, Zetland, The Rocks, Dawes Point and Haymarket.

Victorian suburbs include South Yarra, South Melbourne, Docklands and Melbourne CBD.

West Australian suburbs include PerthPerth, TAS Perth, WA CBD, Northbridge and Mandurah.

Queensland suburbs made up more than half of the list, with suburbs in Brisbane and Cairns included. 

Brisbane suburbs included Brisbane CBD, Spring Hill and Wintergarden.

Cairns suburbs included Aeroglen, Freshwater, Trinity Beach and Palm Cove.

ANZ and NAB are also keeping lists of high-risk postcodes.

Over 140 suburbs blacklisted by bank
spi logo

Get the latest news & updates

Join a community of over 100,000 property investors.

Check this box to receive podcast updates

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.