WA's 'Super Towns' set for development

By Reporter 29 November 2012 | 1 minute read

Western Australia’s nine ‘Super Towns’ are set for the next phase of development with the endorsement of their Growth Plans by the Western Australian Planning Commission (WAPC).

The Super Towns include Boddington, Collie, Esperance, Jurien Bay, Katanning, Manjimup, Margaret River, Morawa and Northam.
Attending the launch of Northam’s Growth Plan, Regional Development Minister Brendon Grylls said the finalisation of the plans and their subsequent endorsement was a major milestone for the $85.5million Super Towns program.
“The WAPC endorsement solidifies Super Towns as a key initiative in WA’s regional development and demonstrates the value of a whole-of-government approach to planning,” Mr Grylls said.
“The plans were developed in consultation with local and surrounding communities, agencies across government and the private sector and the support of the WAPC is a strong signal that we’re on the right path to building sustainable communities.
“Endorsement of the plans builds on the towns’ progress and gives them momentum to further develop their communities and capitalise on investment and growth opportunities.”
Planning Minister John Day said under the State Government Royalties for Regions program, more than $5million had been allocated for 2011-12 to assist with strategic growth planning in the nine SuperTown communities that had been chosen.

WA's 'Super Towns' set for development
spi logo

Get the latest news & updates

Join a community of over 100,000 property investors.

Check this box to receive podcast updates

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.